Home  |   Contact Us  |   Site Map


Nuclear Regulatory Commission

The U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) was established by the Energy Reorganization Act of 1974 and began operations in 1975. The NRC was established to regulate the civilian use of nuclear materials for commercial, industrial, academic, and medical uses in order to protect public health and safety and the environment, and promote the common defense and security.

The NRC’s scope of responsibility includes regulation of commercial nuclear power plants; research and test reactors; nuclear fuel cycle facilities; medical, academic, and industrial uses of radioactive materials; the decommissioning of these facilities and sites; and the transport, storage, and disposal of radioactive materials and wastes. The NRC’s regulations are designed to protect both the public and occupational workers from radiation hazards. 

The NRC is headed by five Commissioners appointed by the President of the United States, with the advice and consent of the U.S. Senate, to serve 5-year terms. The President designates one of the Commissioners to serve as Chairman. Under the leadership and policy direction of the Chairman and Commissioners, the NRC issues licenses and oversees licensees for civilian uses of radioactive materials. 

The NRC also consults with the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) regarding disposal options for waste incidental to reprocessing and monitors DOE disposal actions for these incidental wastes.

 The NRC is responsible for regulating domestic activities related to radiation protection and nuclear safety for nuclear facilities and for promoting the common defense and security related to uses of radioactive materials. The NRC also licenses the import and export of radioactive materials, participates in international nuclear activities, including multilateral and bilateral safety and security activities, and works closely with its international counterparts to enhance nuclear safety and security worldwide.

Department/Agency Specific Prune Job Profiles:
Nuclear Regulatory Commission, Chairman